Alyssa Turned 13

Happy 13th Birthday to my baby girl!!  How did that happen??  I am telling you that I just brought her home from the hospital yesterday, how is she already 13??  Don’t blink because they grow up way too fast.

Alyssa Turns 13-16

For Alyssa’s birthday this year she wanted a Harry Potter themed party and she wanted to have it at the beach (you know since we just moved to a private lake, and we have our own private beach).  So I searched Pinterest to find all the prefect stuff.  I even put together a board on Pinterest that is Harry Pottery inspired.  So if you are planning a Harry Potter birthday party, make sure and check it out.

The first thing that I found that was very helpful (and free) was Harry Potter inspired fonts.  I didn’t use all of them, but I did use several of them in making my invitations and my menu which was inspired by the menu at Kara’s Party Ideas.

Alyssa Turns 13-10

Now one of the next things I searched for was free printables for all of my decorating and goody bags.  I found these awesome free printables over at The Quiet Grove.  I tried to get the link from their site and it was giving an error message.  But hopefully it will be back up and working again soon.  I used the letters for the “Welcome Muggles” banner, the school flags on the tables and the goody bags.

Alyssa Turns 13-4

Now as far as the table set up, I got this cute idea from this picture.

Alyssa Turns 13-5Alyssa Turns 13-6Alyssa Turns 13-7Alyssa Turns 13-8

The food we severed was mostly inspired by the menu I found at Kara’s Party Ideas, with a few changes.  I also added Polyjuice Potion Punch and Butter Beer.  I wanted everyone to know exactly what was in the drinks before they made a decision about what they wanted to drink.  I don’t have a link to the butter beer recipe someone gave me, but it was a butterscotch disk, butterscotch syrup and cream soda.  It was a big hit with the kids!!

Alyssa Turns 13-14

Of course we had to have golden snitches!!

Alyssa Turns 13-15

The cupcakes were made following Sweetest Kitchen’s cupcakes for her Harry Potter themed party.

Alyssa Turns 13-13

I made quills for all the guest.  I just used black pens that we picked up at Wal-Mart and some feathers that I already had in my craft supplies and some black electrical tape to attach the feathers to the pens.  The goody bags included magic wands, levitating lemon heads and jelly slugs which was all ideas I had found on different Pinterest round ups.

Alyssa Turns 13-9

For Alyssa’s outfit, she asked for a red and gold swimsuit.  I looked everywhere for one.  I looked for a solid red swimsuit and I would add gold heat transfer vinyl to the swimsuit and I couldn’t find any.  So finally I decided I would sew her a swimsuit.  I used Create Kid’s Couture’s pattern Ursula.  I didn’t make the skirt.  Then for the shirt I used the free fonts I had downloaded to cut out the wording Alyssa wanted on the front and back of the shirt.

Alyssa Turns 13-1Alyssa Turns 13-2Alyssa Turns 13-3

I made the photo set up from this idea.  I didn’t get pictures of everyone like I wanted, but I did get one of the birthday girl and a few others.  Keeping everyone out of the water was not easy.

Alyssa Turns 13-20Alyssa Turns 13-21Alyssa Turns 13-22Alyssa Turns 13-23

One gift I really want to share with everyone is this Stampy Cat stuffed animal I got her.  I have been asked where I got it so I want to make I share that with everyone.  Alyssa is a huge Stampy Cat fan and has been for years.  I searched everywhere for a Stampy Cat stuffed animal and I finally found one on Etsy.  I got it from Tina Bee and you can find it here.  She absolutely loved it!!  I wish I had a video of her opening it because she screamed when she saw it she was so excited.

Alyssa Turns 13-18Alyssa Turns 13-17

Then here are a few other pictures I took of family with Alyssa!!  I meant to get more, but that would have meant getting everyone out of the water and that was not an easy task!!

Alyssa Turns 13-24Alyssa Turns 13-25

Leave a Reply

