RV Renovations ~ Demolition

Projects never seem to go the way you think they will before you get started and renovating the RV is another true example of it.  Last week I shared a before tour of the RV and some plans I HAD for the RV.  Now my plans have completely changed!!

I went in the RV last week wanting to get started on a few things that I could do without my husband’s help.  I thought I wanted to make the benches in the dinette into dog kennels for my two little dogs.  After taking out one of the benches, taking down all the window treatments all my plans changed.

You see I LOVE the view from the bed of The Motor Home Memoirs.  I have been dreaming of the day I would sell this RV and purchase a motorhome so I could have that view.  I had no clue I had that view until I took down the window treatments on all the windows in the RV.  Then I looked out and realized from the bottom bunk I have that view!!  I was sold, that will be my bed!!!

RV Demolition-6

After taking out one of the benches in the dinette I decided I wanted to completely take it all out.  I mean in most small houses who really eats at the kitchen table anyway??  I decided I would rather purchase some TV trays to use or like we did for most of our meals when we lived in the RV, eat outside!!  After some measuring I realized the sofa will actually fit below the window so I decided I want to move the sofa to below the window.  Of course after taking the sofa out from its original location I am planning on recovering it before I put it back in.  Do you think regular cotton fabric would hold up because I totally have enough of that in my stash to recover the sofa?!?!?  But honestly I think I need some thicker upholstery fabric.

RV Demolition-7RV Demolition-11

Once we took the sofa out we were able to remove the heater.  I do still plan to remove all the gas from the RV.  When we lived in it the temperature dropped down in the 30s one night and we were plenty warm with our electric heaters so we are going to just use that instead.  But the process of completely taking out all the gas won’t be finished for a while.  I plan to replace the hot water heater with an electric one and take out the gas stove.  But I am still thinking about the kitchen renovations.  Right now my focus is on the sleeping arrangements and living area.

RV Demolition-10

So if I am taking over the bottom bunk where are the children going to sleep??  Great question!!  We are going to build two sets of bunk beds where the “bedroom” previously was.  So we took down the half way and we were going to take down the portion of the bedroom wall that goes all the way to the ceiling, but we decided its in the prefect location for building one set of bunk beds.  We will have one set of bunk beds on the back wall and one set on the front wall.  The ones on the back wall will be exactly 6′ so the smaller two children will sleep on those.  While the other two bunk beds will be slightly larger being the exact same size as the current top bunk (which is above my bed).  Then we will have a farm style door to close off the children’s bedroom.

After taking down the half wall we decided to take up the carpet in the bedroom.  We knew for some reason there was plywood under the carpet and we had debated on how to handle that.  We decided MAYBE we should take the plywood up and find out why it was down.  I really didn’t want to at first.  But it was really best that we did.  The floor in the back corner is soft and rotted.  Also we learned we have a leak somewhere.  =(  STOP WORKING!!  Now we have to find this leak and figure out how to fix it.  Then we can get back to the renovation.

RV Demolition-12

We do still plan on taking at the “night stand” and “closet” that is in what use to be the bedroom.

RV Demolition-13

But right now our focus is on the leak!!  If anyone has any tips about leaks in RVs I would love to hear them!!

2 thoughts on “RV Renovations ~ Demolition

    • Thanks!! I am ready to get back to working on it. As soon as we find the leak and fix it. Right now we have the RV covered with tarps because it was raining and we had not had a chance to find and fix the leak yet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

